How To Use Divine Smite?

How To Use Divine Smite?

How does divine smite work?

Divine Smite Starting at 2nd Level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon Attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage. The extra damage is 2d8 for a 1st-level spell slot, plus 1d8 for each Spell Level higher than 1st, to a maximum of 5d8.

How often can divine smite be used?

As stated by Lunali you can use one spell slot per attack. The divine smite damage is 1d8 plus 1d8 per level of the spell slot used to a total maximum damage of 5d8 and this increases by 1d8 against creatures that are undead or fiends. There is otherwise no other limit.

How good is divine smite?

So divine smite is much more effective in terms of damage per action. You are better off attacking twice and smiting once than attacking once and casting once, and both use the same resources. That said, paladin doesn’t get those spells. The spells they do get are things like bless, heroism, smite spells, etc.

You might be interested:  FAQ: Where Can I Buy Divine Chocolate?

What action is divine smite?

No action of any kind required to smite. You can use it any time you connect with a melee weapon attack including Extra Attack, bonus action attacks from Polearm Master, and even reaction attacks like opportunity attacks.

Can you divine smite with booming blade?

Yes. You can trigger both Sneak Attack and Divine Smite on a booming blade attack. Booming blade says: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range.

Can you divine smite while raging?

You can divine smite while raging, but you can ‘t use any smite spells.

Can you do divine smite twice?

Can you Smite multiple times on a single attack? Divine Smite only allows you to expend one spell slot per attack.

Is divine smite magic damage?

So Divine Smite is a magical source of damage. It is also worth noting that Divine Smite would not do slashing damage.

Can you counterspell a smite?

You can ‘t counterspell divine smite. It is not a spell even though it expends a spell slot. It is not cast. One thing to keep in mind though is that when using counterspell you also have to SEE the spell being cast and be within 60’.

Can you lay on hands yourself?

In the D&D rules, your character is a creature. If a feature, like the paladin’s Lay on Hands, works on any creature you touch, then you can use that feature on yourself, provided you can reach yourself.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: How To Make Leliana The Next Divine?

Why are paladins so overpowered?

The paladins are OP because of divine smite and how it can be used in combination with minmaxxing builds and player agency to make a spotlight stealing nova-damage build.

Can you divine smite on Opportunity attack?

As far as RAW (Rules As Written) the paladin is able to use divine smite on any attack they make, even Opportunity Attacks.

Is Eldritch smite a spell?

However, Eldritch Smite does not involve casting a spell, thus the character cannot expend their sorcerer spell slots for Eldritch Smite.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *